In the 18th century, Jean-Charles Vienot was a land and vineyard owner in the village of Prémeraux. It was Vienot who allegedly built the iconic wall around the plot, creating the Clos de l’Arlot and giving birth to the legacy of the Domaine.
In 1891, the property was bought by the wine merchant Jules Belin, who led the estate through a period of expansion, purchasing other plots, such as the Clos des Forêts Saint Georges and the Clos du Chapeau. The vineyards went on to form the Domaine de l’Arlot.
In 1987, the domaine was acquired by the insurance giant AXA. The estate itself was in a difficult condition at that time and one of the first actions put in place by the new owners was a strong replanting. As a consequence, it wasn’t until 1991 that Domaine de l’Arlot began again producing superb vintages in a consistently.
After their acquisition, AXA employed Jean Pierre de Smet as chief winemaker. Trained as an accountant, Smet is a somewhat unique character, having been both a professional skier and yachtsman. Until his retirement in 2006, he maintained a 50:50 partnership with AXA for the Domaine.
From 2014, Géraldine Godot has been the technical director of the estate and responsible for winemaking.